I submitted my last essay just 7 hours before it was due. Which, you may think is brilliant, good on me, I had so much time left over! However, this was the latest I had ever submitted an essay in my past 4 years of university-I kid you not. I know, I know, I am such a nerd.

Now, I have about three weeks before I begin my first ever placement and until then I am a guest speaker at a Ball for a charity organisation incredibly close to my heart (I will definitely blog about this within the next week), I am moving out of home to the bottom end of the state I currently live in and I am both terribly excited, and terribly exhausted.

Before this big stuff starts happening though, I wanted to take this time to reflect on the semester that was. However, because this semester was a bit different to previous semesters, I’ve changed the questions up.

If you want to check out my previous reflections:

Semester 1

Semester 2

Semester 3

 

I am most in my element when I: 

Start the day off with Yoga. For the entire month of January I took part in ‘Yoga With Adriene’s’ 31 Yoga Revolution and I swear, just starting the day off with 15, 30 or 45 minutes of yoga makes the rest of my day productive and kind. Doing yoga daily is most certainly something I am going to ensure becomes part of my daily routine for February.

Favorite study spot:

The dining room table. My chair is right up against the window so when I close the curtains, it feels warm and snug and perfect for a day of writing essays or doing research.

Proudest moment:

Honestly, I’m going to keep this one simple. Taking the time to actually study a subject over Summer. I love being busy but I know that Christmas and New Year gets so hectic, and not to mention I’ve been planning/getting ready to move away so with all of this going on, the semester was wild. But I managed it, and I’m so happy I worked toward getting it all done.

Most humbling moment:

Being asked to speak as a Guest Speaker at the Gala ball that I’ll be attending tomorrow night (!!!)

I feel most empowered when:

I learn something new, when I gather new information that allows me to broaden my horizons. Being

Career plans?

At this point in time, something to do with public speaking or working with children and adolescents with a chronic illness…or both!

Future plans? 

Road trip tomorrow for the Gala Ball tomorrow night, then moving down south on Tuesday and from that moment forward, just taking life as it comes!

Last semester’s challenge:

“I’d really love to further my knowledge on Feminism and the importance of women and women’s rights and therefore am going to challenge myself to find at least one extra article, youtube video or discussion (anything really!) surrounding the topic, just to deepen my knowledge on the topic!”

Did I do it?

Yes! Although I found that I didn’t have the time to find a new article/video/discussion every week, I tried hard to find new information every so often and I did! I found articles discussing feminism, I found videos discussing the importance of feminism especially in today’s day and age.

Challenge for next semester?

Just take it one day at a time. My next semester is 14 weeks of placement and I am so nervous and worried about it, but I know it’s going to be such an incredible experience. So I really just want to take it all in, take it slow and take it as it comes.

Advice to future self:

Never forget how healing just half an hour of journalling can be.

 


Once again, this post has been inspired immensely by my friend, who I miss intensely as she continues to work toward becoming an incredible Doctor on the other side of the world, Sami.

Leave a Reply

