Back in June, I decided that one Friday of every month, I’d share with you guys, four of my favourite novels that I’ve either read in the past month, or year, or more! So, here are four of my favourite novels I’ve read.

 

1. My Sister’s Keeper

Author? Jodi Picoult

I actually saw the movie long before I read this novel! I absolutely fell in love with the movie in High school, despite being an absolute blubbering mess whilst watching it at one of my brother’s football games (I know, I am such a nerd, doing my homework at one of my brother’s games!) For so long, I didn’t actually want to read the novel. I was afraid of feeling all the emotions I’d felt throughout the movie, again, especially because I had lost a few people in my life, to cancer. I knew it would become so real for me. Alas, I got over this fear when I found the novel at the markets, devoured the words Jodi Picoult had written, and of course, cried a million tears, but all the while I fell in love with the storyline and the characters.

So, what is this novel about? 

Being a novel written by Jodi Picoult, you can guarantee there are twists and turns at every single corner, which is what I love about this author and this novel! The story follows a young girl Anna, who was conceived to be a marrow donor for her gravely ill sister, Kate. At a young age, Anna sues for emancipation from her parents where we then get to follow a court case that is sure to destroy a family.

my_sisters_keeper
Source: Musing for Amusement

2. The Solitaire Mystery 

Author? Jostein Gaardner

I was actually recommended this novel by a friend not long ago. The day after he told me about it, I ordered it from a local bookstore and one week later, the novel was in my hands and I was absolutely falling in love with this story that I honestly, never thought I had the capacity to fall in love with. The outcome? This is now one of my favourite novels I’ve ever had the privilege of reading.

So, what is this novel about? 

The novel follows two separate stories; one of the life of a 12 year old boy named Hans Thomas who, alongside his father, is going on a cross-country road trip in search of his mother who left the pair years before; the second is a story that occurred many years before Hans’ life and follows the journey of a man who, following a shipwreck, discovers a magical land of 53 people and an old sailor named Frode. The two stories intertwine as you get deeper through the novel.

the-solitaire-mystery
Source: Macky

3. Seriously…I’m Kidding

Author? Ellen DeGeneres

 One of my all time go-to novels when I’m having a crappy day, written by one of my all time favourite human beings in the world who, through her TV show, novels and social media, always has me smiling. I distinctly remember reading through this novel whilst in hospital, waiting for some tests and I just was filled with joy-no nerves, no fear-because of this novel.

So, what is this novel about?

Basically, just a look at Ellen’s life through her sense of humour. A book full of totally random stories and opinions, this book is bound to make you smile. 

ellen
Source: Youth.SG

4. Change of Heart

Author? Jodi Picoult

Another Jodi Picoult novel, I know, but seriously, once you read one of her novels you will not be able to put them down. Jodi has an absolute way of words that will leave you begging for more, long after the novel is over; and this book is no exception. One of my favourite novels purely due to the fact that the main character’s daughter, has a heart condition and needs a heart transplant-I am so fascinated by the heart and combining that fascination with the story of this novel had me never wanting to stop reading!

So, what is this novel about? 

The story follows the two characters of Shay, and June. June is a mother and a wife-until one day she isn’t, before suddenly she is a mother again but this time, it’s a whole new route of motherhood and June must make decisions about her daughter’s health, and her future, that no parent should have to face. Shay however, has no future, no matter what he does-but he is hoping that one last act will bring him salvation. Jodi never disappoints and explores the concepts of redemption, love and justice. 

changeofheart-306

Source: Jodi Picoult

Let me know in the comments below, what some of your favourite novels are or, if you’ve read any of the novels on this list!

 

 

“A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies. The man who never reads lives only one”

-George R.R. Martin-

Leave a Reply

